In honor of former Iowa State University basketball player Brian Pearson, who died of brain cancer in the fall of 1997, the Iowa Games began awarding the Brian Pearson Memorial Scholarship in 1998.

Pearson knew the meaning of hard work and recognized the rewards of commitment. He valued the relationships he had with his family, friends, neighbors and teammates. People who were fortunate enough to know Brian use words like integrity, honesty and courtesy to describe his life.The intent of the Brian Pearson Memorial Scholarship is to recognize three individuals every year: two outstanding athletes involved with the Iowa Games (one male and one female), and through that process, Brian Pearson.

One $1,000 scholarship annually will be awarded to one male and one female Iowan. Throughout the selection process, the degree of participation in the Iowa Games will be given consideration, as well as the applicant’s display of character.

Citizenship, trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring, perseverance and sportsmanship are just a few of the values on which this award is based.

Eligible recipients for the 2020 scholarship are those students who will be in their junior or senior year of high school during the 2019-20 school year. The award must be used in pursuit of post high school education. Winners will be invited to attend and participate at the Summer Iowa Games Opening Ceremony, in Ames, on Friday, July 17, 2020.
Applications are due by April 6, 2020.

Apply Today

For more information or to receive a scholarship application, students should either:

Brian Pearson Scholarship History

This project is sponsored by Pioneer DuPont and is supported by The Skinner Foundation, Johnny & Romie Orr and Ron & Margaret Kenyon.

2020 Meredith Harter Nevada
Adam Fillipi Anthon
2019 Rachel Rhoads Newton University of Iowa
Sean McDermott Madrid Wartburg College
2018 Brooklyn Waller Maquoketa Wartburg College
Gavin Leicht Dubuque Iowa State University
2017 Alyssa Baatz Neola University of Iowa
Reagan Hansen Harlan University of Iowa
2016 Abby Stephenson Nevada Drake University
Matthan Kots Carroll Iowa State University
2015 Rachel Liercke Center Point
Clayton Christian Glidden
2014 Bridget Concannon Story City
Nate Van Veldhuizen Oskaloosa William Penn University
2013 Taylor Wingert Waukee University of Iowa
Damon Dennis Iowa Falls-Alden Waldorf College
2012 Ann Ku Ames Northwestern University
Nolan Dickson Ames Iowa State University
2011 Kaytlin Tippin Waukee Truman State University
Isaac Olson Urbandale University of Central Oklahoma
2010 Tara Gray Toledo Kirkwood Community College
Kevin Anderson Gilbert DMACC
2009 Ann Hoover Nevada Drake University
Tom Hosfield Mount Ayr University of Northern Iowa
2008 Shea Kruger Grafton Wartburg College
Marley Dobyns Ames Iowa State University
Miles Greenwald Ames Wheaton College
Joshua Lenz Gilbert Morningside College
2007 Stephanie Mundt Urbandale University of Arizona
Benjamin Skelley Wilton Marshalltown Community College
2006 Jessica Frerichs Ames Iowa State University
Brenden George Rockwell City Coe College
2005 Andrew Dau Primghar Simpson College
Hallie Satre Dayton Iowa State University
Kristin Iehl Cedar Falls University of Northern Iowa
2004 Shannon Neubauer Washington Creighton University
Joe Smeins Audubon University of Northern Iowa
2003 Sara Best Perry Upper Iowa University
Trent Miner Eldridge University of Iowa
2002 Scottie Braden Eldridge Loras College
Jessica Gerhart Bancroft University of Nebraska
Andrew George Rockwell City Coe College
2001 Mark Boehm Ogden Waldorf College
Beth Michael Marshalltown Western Illinois University
2000 Ryan Borts Colfax Cabrillo College
Jill Kestel Storm Lake Creighton University
Laura Kriegel Grinnell University of Northern Iowa
1999 Stephanie Roepke Aurora Iowa State University
Michael Sudmeier Dubuque University of Iowa
1998 Matt Birkenholz Newtown Luther College
Krista VanHauen Grundy Center Waldorf College

Gold Sponsors