Iowa Sports Foundation announces new board members, leadership succession

AMES, Iowa – November 10, 2017 – Doug Reichardt and the Iowa Sports Foundation (ISF) announces the appointment of new members of its Board of Directors, as well as changes to the board’s leadership for 2017 – 2018.

Executive leadership changes
As part of ISF’s executive leadership succession plan, long-time board chairman and retired Des Moines businessman and CEO Doug Reichardt will formally transition to the role of Past Chairman. Reichardt served nearly 25 years at the helm of the state’s foremost sports and wellness organization.

Reichardt was a founding board member when ISF was formed in 1986. He was elected Chairman in 1993. Reichardt is credited with the significant and strategic expansion of ISF — from a simple summer games festival to year-round programming serving all ages and stages of fitness.

“There’s simply no quantifying the tremendous impact Doug has had on the Iowa Sports Foundation over two-and-a-half decades of service,” said incoming Board President and Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield Sponsorship Manager Chris Verlengia.

“His visionary leadership has positioned the organization for sustained growth in activating communities in all 99 counties toward improved health and well-being. We’re excited to receive the handoff and build on the legacy of his many contributions.”

In 2001, Reichardt was a key contributor to the creation of Live Healthy Iowa, a flagship program designed to address the state’s growing obesity problem. Since its inception, Live Healthy Iowa has helped hundreds of thousands of Iowans live healthier lives.

“It’s been a great honor and privilege to serve one of the finest nonprofits in the state,” Reichardt said.

New Board of Directors members
Joining the Board of Directors immediately are Michael Bousselot, Tony Dickinson, Norman Granger, Ryan Koopmans and Julie Middleswart.

Michael Bousselot is currently the Managing Director at Summit Agricultural Group. He was the former chief of staff to Governor Terry Branstad and holds a J.D. from Drake University and graduate and undergraduate degrees from the University of Iowa.

Tony Dickinson is the Vice President Strategy & Business Development with NCMIC Group. He is the Past-President of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Central Iowa and was a 2012 Business Record Forty Under 40 recipient. Dickinson holds a B.A. from Mount Mercy University.

Norman Granger, Vice-Chairman, Iowa Board of Parole, is a former Black Hawk County Board of Supervisors member. While receiving his B.S. from the University of Iowa, he was the first multi-year captain for the Hawkeyes football team in school history and went on to play professionally in the National Football League.

Ryan Koopmans currently serves as the Chief Policy Advisor and Senior Legal Counsel for Governor Kim Reynolds. He is a former Judicial Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit. In 2016, Koopmans was named “Rising Star” in litigation by Super Lawyers. He earned his J.D. from the University of Iowa and B.A. from the University of Northern Iowa.

Julie Middleswart is a partner with Ernst & Young. She is a Children & Families of Iowa Foundation Board of Trustees member and currently serves as an Accounting Advisory Board member with Iowa State University and Simpson College. Middleswart received her B.A. from Iowa State University.

The Executive Board for 2017-2018 includes:
Chairman – Greg Wilcox, Nyemaster Goode
President – Chris Verlengia, Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield
Secretary – Jess Vilsack, Nyemaster Goode
Treasurer – Lynn Walz, Retired, Ernst & Young
Past-Chairman – Doug Reichardt, Chairman Emeritus, Holmes Murphy

To learn more about the Iowa Sports Foundation, visit

Iowa Sports Foundation

Gold Sponsors